RSS

Daily Archives: 11/03/2014

#BookBlogWriMo-Where I Read

bookblogwrimo banner

Thanks to bookbumblings for hosting this awesome blog hop.  So, today’s post is about where I read. So, here it goes. I have a couple of places where I like to sit and read.

This first one is this chair in the front office we have.  I love to sit here and read when the sun is streaming through the window in the afternoon.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The second place is my bed. Sometimes I just love to be really comfortable when I’m reading especially if it’s a rainy day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Look forward to hearing about your favorites places to sit and read.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 11/03/2014 in blog hops

 

Tags: ,

Honor Among Orcs by Amalia Dillin Review

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

Honor_Among_Orcs_Review_Opportunity_Button

 

81q0vwjF6gL._SL1500_Title: Honor Among Orcs

Series: Orc Saga #1

Author: Amalia Dillin

Genre: New Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Publisher: Thorskona Books

Release Date: March 27, 2014

 

Purchase: Amazon

Tolkien meets Beauty and the Beast in this new fantasy by Amalia Dillin, author of the Fate of the Gods trilogy.

After nearly a decade as the king’s whipping-girl, Princess Arianna has no intention of going quietly into marriage to some treasonous noble, or serving obediently as the king’s spy until her death is more convenient. When she discovers a handsome orc, chained and trapped inside a magic mirror, Arianna cannot help but see a lasting freedom from her father’s abuse.

Left to rot inside a mirror by the king, Bolthorn never imagined his prayers would be answered by a princess. Nor did he ever expect to meet so worthy a woman after knowing her father’s cruelty. He needs her help to escape the mirror before the king marches against the orcs, but all he can offer Arianna is ice and darkness in exchange for her aid.

If Arianna can free the monster behind the glass, perhaps she might free herself, as well. But once they cross the mountain, there will be no return, and the deadly winter is the least of what threatens them on the other side.

Fans of Kristin Cashore’s FIRE and Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings will appreciate the collision of romance, adventure, and epic fantasy — all with a new adult edge — in Honor Among Orcs.

Goodreads

My Review:

Amalia is a great writer. I couldn’t put it down. It’s a new and interesting way to view Orcs. The characters and the world she has created is great. It has some great twists and turns that will the reader turning the page. This is one of those that readers who love to read epic fantasy like Lord of the Rings and others will really enjoy reading. Put it on your TBR list you won’t be disappointed. I look forward to reading more of Amalia’s books.

5758689Amalia Dillin began as a Biology major before taking Latin and falling in love with old heroes and older gods. After that, she couldn’t stop writing about them, with the occasional break for more contemporary subjects. She lives in upstate New York with her husband, and dreams of the day when she will own goats–to pull her chariot through the sky, of course.

Amalia is the author of the Fate of the Gods trilogy, and the new Orc Saga, beginning with HONOR AMONG ORCS.

Links: Website ♥ Facebook ♥ Twitter ♥ Goodreads

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 11/03/2014 in Reviews

 

Tags: , ,

Bite Marks by Rebecca Royce Review

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

 

22017448

Author: Rebecca Royce

Series: Singles Title

Genre: Paranormal

Line: Paranormal by Mistake

Heat Level: 4 Flames

Coming January 20th, 2015

Pre-Order Now!

Kobo

iTunes

 

 

George is a mystery writer in a small town who wants nothing more than one date with the local bartender named Trudy. When he finally scores a date, he is ecstatic. But the night before he his bitten by a vampire–and accidently transformed into a member of the Undead. He assumes any chance he had with Trudy died the same night his need for food did.

But, Trudy is more than she seems. A werewolf hunter on the run she knows all about vampires and if she can keep them both alive for any length of time, she might be just what George needs to survive.

Can love survive an accidental bite?

 My Review:

Great book. I couldn’t put it down. Love the characters that were created. It has great twists and turns. It will keep the reader turning the page. Anyone who loves paranormal romance will love it. It’s definitely one to be added to your TBR list. I look forward to reading more of Rebecca’s books.

 

About the Author:

Author of science fiction, fantasy, and the paranormal. Check out her site here.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 11/03/2014 in Reviews

 

Tags: , ,